CBI Book of the Year Awards

The CBI Book of the Year Awards (formerly the Bisto Awards) are the leading annual children’s book awards in Ireland. Now in their 25th year, the awards  are made annually by Children’s Books Ireland. The CBI Book of the Year Awards identify, honour and promote excellence in books for young people by Irish authors and illustrators. The awards are the most prestigious in Ireland and offer one of the few opportunities for national and international recognition of Irish authors and illustrators. Excellence in children’s books is the over-arching criterion and there are a total of six awards made.

The awards are open to authors and illustrators born or resident in Ireland and to books written in Irish or English.  The shortlist for the awards is announced annually in March and the winners are announced in June.

Each year CBI assembles a panel of judges who have considerable expertise and interest in books for children. The panel operates independently of CBI. Young book club members or Junior Juries from around the country decide the Children’s Choice Award.

Selection Process

The Judging Panel review all eligible titles and examine them according to the criteria for the award. The shortlist of approximately 10 titles is normally announced, normally in March and the winners in June. If a book is shortlisted, publishers are required to provide CBI 40 complimentary copies of each shortlisted title for promotion purposes.

Shortlist 2015

Ten Books have been shortlisted for the 201 CBI Book of the Year Awards:

When Mr Dog Bites by Brian Conaghan

Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton

Once Upon an Alphabet by Oliver Jeffers

The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Daideo by Áine Ní Ghlinn

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

Haiku Más é do thoil é! by Gabriel Rosenstock illustrated by Brian Fitzgerald

Primperfect by Deirdre Sullivan

Beyond the Stars compiled by Sarah Webb

Winners 2014

Author and illustrator Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick has won the 24th CBI Book of the Year Award as well as the Honour Award for Fiction for her novel Hagwitch. Moving between 16th-century and modern-day London, Hagwitch draws on ancient folk superstitions and the magic of the stage tradition to craft a haunting tale. The judges said, ‘Fitzpatrick brings the reader on a journey down a canal, through a world of theatre and puppetry, and into a realm of magic and mystery. This expertly-crafted novel, with its meticulous attention to detail, seamlessly interweaves the two narratives of present-day Lally and sixteenth-century Flea.’ Marie-Louise’s previous novel Dark Warning, won the CBI Honour Award for Fiction in 2013.

During the ceremony, students from Loreto Beaufort, Rathfarnham and Scoil San Carlo in Leixlip presented the Children’s Choice Award to Oliver Jeffers for his illustrations in The Day the Crayons Quit (written by Drew Daywalt). Voted for by young readers from across the country, the Children’s Choice Award is chosen by Junior Juries across the country, who read and judge the eight shortlisted titles and vote for their favourite.

The CBI Book of the Year Awards judging panel also made awards to the following:

  • Special Judges’ Award: Paula Leyden for The Sleeping Baobab Tree. The judges said, ‘Combining robust character development with vivid descriptions of the Zambian landscape, Leyden skilfully creates an evocative and atmospheric narrative that explores themes of friendship, family and human rights.’
  • Honour Award for Illustration: P.J. Lynch for Mysterious Traveller. The judges said, ‘With an emphasis on browns, tans and blues, Lynch’s superb and stunning textured paintings transport readers/viewers into the desert landscape of the tale and guide us through the emotional journey of Issa and Mariama.’

The CBI Book of the Year Awards are the leading children’s book awards in Ireland. The Awards are a celebration of excellence in children’s literature and illustration and are open to books written in English or Irish by authors and illustrators born or resident in Ireland and published between 1st January and 31st December each year. Previous winners include John Boyne for his book The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas; Chris Haughton for A Bit Lost, Sheena Wilkinson for Grounded and Kate Thompson for her books The New Policeman, Annan Water and The Alchemist’s Apprentice.

Pádraic Whyte, chair of the judging panel, said, ‘The titles being celebrated today are nothing short of world class and reveal the exceptional skills and talents of Irish authors and illustrators writing for children. It is an honour to head up such a dedicated judging panel that delved into 80 or so award entries, and highlighted excellent books that young readers around the country – and around the world – are sure to love .’

Elaina Ryan, Director of CBI, said ‘The CBI Awards are a unique opportunity not only to honour the very best in Irish writing and illustration, but to give young people a voice through the Children’s Choice Award. It is a real delight to see even more young readers than last year taking part in our shadowing scheme and enjoying the excellent and diverse books on this year’s shortlist.’